Skip to main content
About PBS
PBS Names KQED Fundraising Leader Earl Blauner as C. Scott Elliott Development Professional of the Year for 2017
Email share

PBS Annual Meeting, SAN DIEGO, CA; May 16, 2017 – PBS has named Earl Blauner, Special Counsel for Gift Planning and Endowment at Northern California public television station KQED, as the recipient of the 2017 C. Scott Elliott Development Professional of the Year Award. The award was established in 1990 in memory of Scott Elliott, who raised more than $100 million for PBS member stations in Detroit, Buffalo and Cincinnati over the course of his career and was a standard bearer for integrity and professionalism in public media development.

“Earl Blauner embodies Scott’s passion and commitment to mission, someone who inspires all of us to aim higher and reach further,” said PBS President and CEO Paula Kerger. “He has been described by his peers as someone with quiet integrity and determination, and a leader who understands how to turn vision into results.”  

Over the past 22 years, Blauner has helped KQED engage more than 500 members for KQED’s Jonathan C. Rice Legacy Society, generating a continuous source of support for public media in Northern California.

An ardent advocate for gift planning as a meaningful, accessible and sustainable way to support community causes, Blauner has served on the Northern California Planned Giving Council (NCPGC) Board of Directors and Legislative Chair of the Northern California Planned Giving Council. In 2012, the Council gave him its highest honor, the Phil Hoffmire Award.

In addition to his professional and volunteer contributions to the philanthropic community, Blauner has served as a generous mentor and resource for fundraising colleagues in the public media system and beyond, showing a commitment to sharing his expertise and helping others grow.  

The C. Scott Elliott Award is part of the PBS Development Awards, which recognize member stations for outstanding corporate support, membership and philanthropy efforts in local communities. Among the previous winners are Tom Karlo, Jon Abbott, Tom Axtell, Don Derheim, Glenn Fisher, Kent Geist, Paula Kerger, Paige Meriwether, Dan Metziga, Russ Peotter, David Preston, Lisa Tait and Mel Waggoner.

About PBS
PBS, with nearly 350 member stations, offers all Americans the opportunity to explore new ideas and new worlds through television and digital content. Each month, PBS reaches nearly 100 million people through television and nearly 28 million people online, inviting them to experience the worlds of science, history, nature and public affairs; to hear diverse viewpoints; and to take front row seats to world-class drama and performances. PBS’ broad array of programs has been consistently honored by the industry’s most coveted award competitions. Teachers of children from pre-K through 12th grade turn to PBS for digital content and services that help bring classroom lessons to life. Decades of research confirms that PBS’ premier children’s media service, PBS KIDS, helps children build critical literacy, math and social-emotional skills, enabling them to find success in school and life. Delivered through member stations, PBS KIDS offers high-quality educational content on TV – including a new 24/7 channel, online at, via an array of mobile apps and in communities across America. More information about PBS is available at, one of the leading dot-org websites on the internet, or by following PBS on TwitterFacebook or through our apps for mobile and connected devices. Specific program information and updates for press are available at or by following PBS Pressroom on Twitter.

Aparna Kumar, PBS,; 703-739-5028